Posted on

CBMK with Phil & Z Roy

It was through skateboarding that I first got into still photography, so I was stoked when I got a call from Phil asking if I wanted to go shoot with him at CBMK last week. Z Roy came along as well and we pretty much had the whole park to ourselves for the night. I haven’t been to this park in about 4 years, but not much has changed, and it’s still one of my favourite winter spots in the GTA.

Phil McKnight with a large Ollie to Fakie

Z Roy with an Ollie from the Upper Flat into the Mini-Half

Z Roy with...I guess a Nosegrind up, 5-0 down?

Phil with a lofty switch kickflip

B-Roll Weapon of Choice...$5 from an antique store and it has a hot shoe!

Z Roy again, with the 50mm instead of the 15mm

My favourite photo from the night, cropped square so it's Instagram-ready ๐Ÿ˜‰

I also decided to warm up the motor drive and try out a couple sequences. Z Roy’s finished up a bit sketchy, as every other attempt I’d had to duck under his board flying out of the mini-half…so I was a little uneasy…but I assure you it was a land.

You already know.

Sometimes 1 frame just isn't enough.

...or one angle...

It felt really good to get back to my roots and shoot some quality skateboarding with old friends, I’m really looking forward to skating street in the coming months!

About christophbphoto

Photographer from Toronto, Ontario. Owner of Low Key Studio & Gallery in Hamilton Ontario. www.cbenfey.com & www.lowkeystudio.com

56 responses to “CBMK with Phil & Z Roy

  1. Cathy

    Very nice photos. And these skateboarders seem to be great as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You’ve captured such incredible movement in these pix…you’re crazy talented at this kind of photography! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. $5 camera from an antique store…sweet! Love this post; takes me back to the days when my brother and I would go see Tony Hawk, and we he and first saw “The Condor” Mat Hoffman.

    Great shots in this post…

  4. These are awesome! Are you using a fisheye in some of them? Love the wide angle look on these.

  5. Carlie Chew ⋅

    Awesome photos and post! I love the sequence shots.

  6. Do you develop your own film? Great photos! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  7. Dude, nice shots, really crisp. Don’t you scale for the web tho? Scarily easy for someone to download one of your ~9mb (!) shots and trim your logo.

    I have to ask, the photo of your ‘B Roll weapon of choice’, which looks great, have you just photoshopped your logo on their too or is it a decal? It suits the camera nicely, I’m thinking about doing that on my kit now…. Hmm…

    • Good call, I was in a rush when I did these, but normally do scale. Stuff gets stolen all the time regardless though…The logo was done in PS, but it’s good to know it looks legit! Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Grant ⋅

    Sick shots. Keep skating bro.

  9. drewpan

    Very nice photos, dude! Looking forward to seeing more skate photography on your blog!

  10. I’m going to an indoor park tomorrow, and your pictures just reminded me how awesome it’s going to be and how awesome skateboarding is in general. Thanks for being the source of that awesome!

  11. These are beautiful photos! I am a WordPress photographer as well! Great job.

  12. Fiona.q ⋅

    i guess the joy in skateboarding is “right at that moment, i’m free and i can fly”, lol.

  13. lutrsienna ⋅

    wow,so cool

  14. readinggirl ⋅

    Reblogged this on My Blog and commented:
    Cool!!! Can’t wait to share with my students!

  15. Pingback: 15 OTHER BLOGGERS UNIQUE VOICES – 22.2.12 « Horiwood's Blog

  16. the777man

    Love the pix! Well most of them, I couldn’t see the last one it never loaded… I have that challenger here, I live on a ranch, and we are on satellite internet. I am noticing a trend here on WordPress that people do not optimize for the web. Which makes viewing for those of us without many options for isp’s pretty much stuck in the mud, and not able to view. It is very sad! I feel like I am missing out on so many great photographs! Since this is like my TV since I don’t have one… Okay enough of my sad story, but it would be awesome if your pix were optimized a bit so I could load them!!!!

    Peace and Harmony,
    Sj

  17. I โ™ฅ MYSELF ⋅

    Reblogged this on M I M E S H U E D A.

  18. uzmashah

    these are really nice pix ,the feeling of pix are like,” one can reach high !

  19. Have to say this dude….

    AWWWWWEEEESSSSSOOOOOME…. ๐Ÿ˜€

  20. Whoa! What movement in these pics! Fab!

  21. Ryan

    Great shots of those skaters!

  22. excellent pictures,look forward to seeing some more ๐Ÿ˜€

  23. laubao

    Wow!
    Wonderful pictures!
    My brothers was a skateboarder, too!!
    Greetings!
    Laura

  24. Some really great photos here!

  25. Great shots! Looks like it was a great sesh.

  26. shammee ⋅

    Cool snaps man …………

  27. Great shots but I’m afraid I simply didn’t understand any of the worlds LOL

  28. daveinden

    Great shots. I am always impressed by someone who can capture such fast movement so clearly. Very nice work. Reminds me a lot of my skateboarding days and reading issues of TransWorld.

      • daveinden

        You’re welcome. Would you mind sharing any tips on shooting action shots like these? What was your aperture and shutter speed? Looks like you were using a flash, is that true? I am trying to get into this kind of photography. Thank you.

      • Sure! It was shot on a Canon 7D (cropped sensor), with the 50mm f1.4 prime. But my aperture was set to f5.6 at 1/125 shutter speed (gotta stay under 1/200 with flashes) at ISO100.

        I used 3 flashes for this photo, Canon 580EX2s, triggered by Pocket Wizards (best radio slaves).

        One was clamped to the ceiling just beyond Phil, providing a rim light accent on his arms, hair, legs, etc.

        One was clamped to a pipe on the wall just out of frame on the right hand side, dialed down a stop (or 2…can’t remember) less than the other, to light the side of him facing me, without blowing him out!

        The third was on the opposite side of the half pipe, basically to light his backside as well as light up the quarter pipe under him.

        Pretty standard set up for this kind of thing, the key is to find the best time to press the shutter. Best advice I can give you for that it to look at lots of other people’s photos and see what works and what doesn’t..and then practicing like crazy!

        From now on I’ll try to do a bit of a write up like this on future photo posts!

      • daveinden

        That is all very helpful. Thanks for the details. Any info like that on future posts would be awesome. Thanks again.

  29. charles_etienne ⋅

    +1!!!!

  30. Sergio Garcia ⋅

    Sweet shots.
    I love the camera as well, how fun!

    S

  31. Joanna

    I like that little camera!

Leave a Reply

